Costco Vs. Jiffy Lube

Andrew Schiestel tried to get an oil change at Costco and was unhappy with the service:

I stepped up and asked the employee how long an oil change would take. He replied, “two hours”.

I said, “I don’t have enough time right now to wait. Can I get your # here and I’ll call in advance next time and check the waiting time?”

He replied, “No, I won’t be able to tell you.”

I asked, “Why not?”

He replied, “Because it’s first come first serve. The waiting time always changes.”

I said, “But if I’m just around the corner, is it not possible to call you and just ask the current waiting time, knowing that the time you give may possibly change by the time I get in your store?”

He said, “Yes, I suppose.”

I said, “Great can I get your business card with a phone number.”

He said, “We don’t have business cards.”

Are you as frustrated reading this conversation yet as I was in having to go through it?

I asked, “Well can you just write it down on a piece of paper?”

Finally, I produced a result! Our case study employee took a piece of paper, ripped off a corner of it and scribbled down their phone number.

I asked him for his name and thanked him for his time and left.

Aside from the obvious lack of customer care, support and service, what could Costco have done in this situation to avoid losing me as a customer?

He was much happier at JiffyLube:

A happy looking young mechanic greeted me as I walked in. I asked if I could get an oil change, he responded “You bet”. I said are you available to do it now? He said, “of course” and point behind me at the bay door that had already been lifted up by another employee while him and I greeted and conversed. This was a sign that this garage was aware of everything that was going on and really wanted my experience to be easy, and effortless. I pulled my vehicle in to a guy waving me on. I got out and he made small talk with me and we had a few good chuckles. I asked how long the oil change would be – another mechanic said, “no more than 15 minutes.” Wow!

I don’t know if it’s fair to compare Costco’s automotive services department with a Jiffy Lube that does nothing other than oil changes, but I guess Jiffy Lube is a competitor. I guess the lesson is that if you’re going to offer a service, you should do it all the way instead of “half-a**ing” it as my dad would say.

Do you ever use Costco’s car services? If so, what are your experiences?

10 responses to “Costco Vs. Jiffy Lube

  1. Jiffy Lube is by far the worst place to get your oil changed! They hire morons, who do it incorrectly and even leave rags and what not on you’re engine and oil pan!

    http://www.ripoffreport.com/Auto-Service-Stations/Jiffy-Lube-902/jiffy-lube-scam-422mc.htm

  2. I went to Jiffy Lube for an oil change and to replace my filter….the next time I went for an oil change the mechanic told me that I havent had an oil change in a lonngggg time…Turns out the idiots never changed the oil and never replaced the filter…

  3. They don’t just hire morons. They also hire inept idiots, druggies and criminals. Don’t ever use a Jiffy Lube, or Grease Monkey. You’d be better off doing it yourself.

    No matter what you think or have been told, those places are only after one thing. Your money. Sales, sales, sales is their motto.

  4. adiksadiatabs

    I had my car’s oil changed at a Jiffy Lube. They didn’t put the cap back on causing oil to spew all over the engine.

  5. i really think the costco employee gave you the best info he could provide. if its first come first serve he really can’t give an accurate estimate. he could have said 10 minutes hung up the phone & three customer come in for service. get over it

  6. It’s a pretty foolish person who thinks they can schedule vehicle service the same way as a fast food lunch. You need to find a good shop and drop the car off to have it serviced the right way. None of this jiffy lube or costco garbage. And as for ‘not having the time’, you make the time.

  7. I used to be suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not certain whether this put up is written by him as no one else recognize such targeted about my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  8. Doesn’t really appear to me as though any one is really interested in earning your money when it comes to getting an oil change or any other minor service. They know that most people don’t have the time or equipment to get under their cars and drain their oil, package the oil, then transport it to a place it can be disposed. Honestly, my time is worth a hell of a lot more than the 10$ i’d save doing it myself so all you do it your selfers, not really sure this article is for you. This person pays and whatever his reason, probably isn’t interested in doing it himself. Maybe its a great business model, provide fast accurate oil changes for a great price. Obviously Jiffy Lube and everyone else who claims this is what they do is failing. time for a better mousetrap?

  9. I am really loving the theme/design of your web
    site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog audience have complained about my
    site not working correctly in Explorer but looks
    great in Chrome. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

  10. oil change at Jiffy Lube cost me a 100.00
    never again

Leave a Reply

