No Need to Clip Coupons at Costco?

I have to admit, I am bad about coupon cutting, but I’m kicking myself because I never knew this about the Costco coupon book that comes every month:

As a member, I receive a Costco coupon book mailed to my home about once a month. When I check out, the cashier can swipe the entire booklet. The computer automatically gives the sale price on any eligible item in my cart. No clipping coupons! One wave across the scanner and I get all of the discounts I’m entitled to.

Why did I not know this?

25 responses to “No Need to Clip Coupons at Costco?

  1. Wow! Great news for me, also not a clipper. I’m so psyched I found this blog b/c I am a huge Costco fan — both in terms of products and how the company is managed.

  2. My store has the master coupon but it’s still “experimental” and they’ve been telling members to continue to bring their coupons in because the stores are only allotted so much product for the coupon period.

  3. Memeber MUST bring in the coupons. And tear out EVERY coupon. They will NOT ask you if you have any coupons so if you dont bring them in and hand them to the cashier you will NOT be applied to your purchase.
    The coupons are sent out ONLY to the main card holder NOT to an “add on” so if you dont pay for your membership (your friend,mom,dad,uncle,)pays for it you will NOT get them

  4. BOB is exactly correct. Although there will certainly be some inconsistencies due to cashier error from location to location (and even within locations), all coupons must be given to the cashier prior to the completion of your purchase. The master scan function is simply to help ensure the accuracy and speed of each member’s order. It is NOT a free pass to receive coupon discounts without coupons, despite whatever misinformation is out there.

  5. The Costco I frequent uses a master scan coupon too. All you have to do is tell them to scan it…

    Coupon cutting isn’t necessary- after all its 2009!

  6. I’m a costco user in Japan.

    I think we don’t have sucha convenient system in Japan.
    We have to tear out every coupon for eligible items.

    Here is my question, what is a master scan coupon? Is it different from the coupon book?
    Also, every coupon is valid to one use only.
    If we can use coupon without tearing out, is it valid to mulitiple use?

  7. I just posted a funny joke about waiting in line at COSTCO. Read it here:

    http://soyouwanttobeabanquetmanager.blogspot.com/2009/08/my-trip-to-costco.html

  8. I would like members contributing to the CostCo blogs to identify their store(s). Every store has it’s own personality. An example is store items on sale – I’ve often found the same item on sale at different prices at two stores and not on sale at a third. The other is what items are stocked. Not every item can be available in every store. Not even close.

  9. Hey there, I want to help you for the Holiday seasons! I can offer you a $1500 costco card all you need to do is sign up with your email address! Thats it! Here check it out at http://www.iemail.info/costco Hope to hear from you guys

  10. Look on the back of the page of coupons. If the barcode is the same for all of the items, you only need one coupon to be scanned. This is great for speeding up lines.

  11. I HATE these coupons they are a pain in the ass everyone tries to get one more than what there suppose to get. They hold up the lines while they try to figure out what is on coupon and what is on coupon! To its alot of wasted paper and time. Instead of having coupons just have them all instant so there is no confusion!

  12. If you look at the back of the coupons you will see they are all identical.

  13. It is still a good idea to take the coupon book with you however for matching the item numbers in the coupon book to make sure you are picking the correct item.

  14. I think that they just started doing this recently. It is terribly convenient, isn’t it? I dig it!

  15. Costco’s technology allows them to scan one coupon AFTER all coupons are received, and you will receive all that you are entitled to. Coupons have limitations, therefore must be taken out of circulation as they are used. You should therefore clip and present them. If you have no more need for the booklet they will take it from you and cover all your coupons. If you do NOT present them they will not be able to point out that you bought the wrong item, or exceeded the limit. Manufacturers have already threatened to pull the plug on the program because of those that do not present the proper coupons, and therefore abuse the limitations. There are always some in every crowd. Not presenting your coupons is much the same as throwing the Sunday paper at your local grocery store cashier, and telling THEM to cut out your coupons. Lazy and tacky.

  16. My experience has been like others that one coupon can be scanned and you get all the coupons applied that are appropriate. I only found this out recently though. My Costco is in Lenexa, KS and we have self check lanes. At the end of the order I just swipe one coupon and it appplies them all.

  17. same for me in Atlanta.. self checkout. Scan 1 coupon and it auto subtracts all additional applicable coupons for my lot of goods.

  18. The Master coupon thing is a new developement at Costco. It used to be that you had to have a different coupon for each item and they asked you to clip them. They’ve recently updated to the Master coupon system where only one coupon needs to be scanned and the computer identifies all your items that it works for. Hooray for improvements!

  19. I wonder if this blog is ever going to get another update?

  20. “I wonder if this blog is ever going to get another update?”

    I wonder the same thing.

  21. Kristen Beck

    At my Costco in Coeur d’ Alene Idaho, they will not use master scan and you must hand over coupons. I was told all Costcos must do this as there have been far to many accounting errors, as well as people taking advantage of the limits on the coupons. So..take your coupon books with you!

  22. At my Costco (Henderson, NV) the cashiers ALWAYS give me the coupon discount without me even asking. I never bring my coupon book in but they always get scanned & 80% of the time, I don’t even ask them & when I do, they say “Yep, they are automatically taken off every transaction” In fact, a few times I didn’t even realize some items had a coupon discount until I looked over my receipt as I was leaving the store! We go every Sunday to do our shopping so this isn’t like a fluke thing that just happened once either.

  23. “BOB | April 24, 2009 at 10:21 am |

    Memeber MUST bring in the coupons. And tear out EVERY coupon. They will NOT ask you if you have any coupons so if you dont bring them in and hand them to the cashier you will NOT be applied to your purchase.
    The coupons are sent out ONLY to the main card holder NOT to an “add on” so if you dont pay for your membership (your friend,mom,dad,uncle,)pays for it you will NOT get them

    Anna | May 8, 2009 at 4:38 pm |

    BOB is exactly correct. Although there will certainly be some inconsistencies due to cashier error from location to location (and even within locations), all coupons must be given to the cashier prior to the completion of your purchase. The master scan function is simply to help ensure the accuracy and speed of each member’s order. It is NOT a free pass to receive coupon discounts without coupons, despite whatever misinformation is out there.”

    I am a Costco cashier, and we do ask that members bring in their coupon book, but they are not required to cut them out. Any Costco that is asking this is WRONG. All cashiers are required to keep a coupon at their register. Each coupon shares an identical bar code / UPC on the back, so when one is scanned, all coupons are applied as we scan. Even the self checkouts are supplied with a coupon. Members do need to scan it themselves if they want the discount though. I know these posts are very old, but I wanted to clear this up. Sorry to those who shop at Costco Warehouses that are not doing what they are supposed to do.

  24. Do you dread cooking Thanksgiving dinner? Read “Recipe for a Stress-free Thanksgiving,” using Costco’s “personal turkeys” at http://www.ALittleBitOff.net.

    If it doesn’t solve your challenge, it will make you laugh!

Leave a Reply

