Costco Beer Seen Not Tasted

costcobeer

The Brew Site spotted Kirkland beer at a Costco recently and got the shot above. According to Jon at The Brew Site, they’ve got Hefeweizen, Amber Ale, German lager, and Pale Ale. (Hefeweizen is wheat beer if you don’t know. I really hate it. I’m more of an Amber.)

I know Kirkland is just the name that Costco splashes onto every product that is really made by some other reputable but no-name manufacturer, but for some reason I don’t think I’ll buy this beer. It doesn’t make sense, because the idea of Kirkland wine doesn’t bother me at all.  I have this idea in my head that drinking Kirkland beer would be the same as drinking the generic beer you used to see on TV shows (before product placement of course) that would be in a white can and labeled “BEER”.

I know it’s irrational. We are irrational beings.

Anyone actually tasted this stuff yet?

3 responses to “Costco Beer Seen Not Tasted

  1. Bought a case today. Will report soon.

  2. Picked up a case on Sunday. I am an amber drinker myself, with Full Sail Amber being my favorite. The Kirkland Amber I was not all that impressed with, but it’s hard for me to be impressed if it’s not Full Sail Amber or Mac and Jacks. The pale ale is quite good, the lager isn’t bad even though I am not a lager guy. The Hefeweizen was what surprised me most. I don’t like Hef, but it came in the case, so what the hell? I actually liked it. I read tonight that Gordon Biersch is actually brewing the beer for Costco, so it can’t be too bad, right?

  3. It is all not bad. There are four varieties. Go to http://www.thebeerinme.com for reviews.

Leave a Reply

