Costco Credit Card with $25 Statement Credit

Found something interesting today. My old Citibank credit card just gave me the heave-ho for some reason. (I am a good customer, pay my bills, and they were going to raise my rate! That’s as good as kicking me out as far as I’m concerned.) So I went to my my favorite site for comparing credit cards and went to the cash back credit cards section. Well, lookee here:

True Earnings® Card from Costco and American Express – Cash Back Offer: Costco credit card allows you to earn 3% cash back on gas and restaurant purchases, 2% on travel purchases and 1% cash back everywhere else. Get a $25 statement credit after first card purchase. Ongoing APR: 13.99% variable rate*. Introductory APR: 0% for first 3 months. Balance Transfer Rate: 1.99% for 6 months on balances transferred within 30 days. Annual Fee: None for Costco members

See that? I’d already been thinking about the Costco card, but I never saw that $25 statement credit thing before.

Know why? Costco doesn’t even have it on their own site!

Don’t believe me? See for yourself:

Costco Credit Card Application as seen from IndexCreditCards link

Costco Credit Card Application as seen from links on Costco

One’s got the $25 statement credit, one doesn’t. I’m no country bumpkin, I know that different people might get different offers, but why would Costco let American Express give some people a better deal on a new Costco credit card than Costco gives on its own Web site?

I don’t know the answer, but I’m going to take the $25 credit. And if you’ve thought about becoming a Costco member but haven’t, here’s a way to get a chunk of your membership fee rebated back to you.

Leave a Reply

